new to Blackjack

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by TxGammon, Oct 2, 2018.

1. TxGammon

TxGammon Member

Hello everyone, I am glad to have found this forum. I am new to Blackjack, having only been seriously studying it for about six months now.

A tournament is coming up at the end of this month and it will be my first if I can make it.

PitchMan likes this.
  2. noman

noman Top Member

Jump in. Water is always fine

PitchMan and TxGammon like this.
  3. PitchMan

PitchMan Top Member

Welcome TxGammon. If the "Tx" indicates you are in Texas, or if you are otherwise located close enough to Shreveport, LA you might want to check out the weekly (Tuesday) Blackjack tournament at the Eldorado. There you can hone tournament skills against some of the best players around. Sign up at 4:30 PM, play at 5:00, 4 rounds of opportunity to reach the semi final round, each costing you $20. When the tournament is full it pays $1,400 for first then graduated down to the 7th player at the final table. Most weeks a first place win pays something in the $800 o $1,100 range It's a great place to learn a lot from really nice folks who are great competition. It is normally over by 9:00 PM or before. Good luck to you!

KenSmith likes this.
  4. TxGammon

TxGammon Member

Thank you! That is just close enough for me to check it out now and then. Today I am in Cloudcroft and about to drive down to Inn of the Mountain God's.

5. TxGammon

TxGammon Member

How can I find tournament software to practice?

6. PitchMan

PitchMan Top Member