A few update versions ago, vBulletin added a new feature to the message board software that allows members to leave each other "Profile Visitor Messages" aka "Visitor Messages".
Quite a few members have been confused by this feature, mistaking it for Private Messages. There's a big difference.
Profile Visitor Messages are visible to anyone who visits a members Profile Page. Private messages are visible only to the sender and the receiver of the message.
This can easily cause some unintended publishing of information.
My question: Should I disable Profile Visitor Messages altogether? Is this a useful feature?
Quite a few members have been confused by this feature, mistaking it for Private Messages. There's a big difference.
Profile Visitor Messages are visible to anyone who visits a members Profile Page. Private messages are visible only to the sender and the receiver of the message.
This can easily cause some unintended publishing of information.
My question: Should I disable Profile Visitor Messages altogether? Is this a useful feature?